Products of Change


Wed 21 Sep 2022 | by Rob Hutchins

Toy Industries of Europe reveals 2022 Play for Change finalists

Toy Industries of Europe has this week revealed the nominees for the 2022 Play for Change Awards, unveiling the nine finalists now running for gold, Silver, and Bronze Awards across three categories. Winners of the 2022 Play for Change Awards will be announced at a special event taking place in Brussels on October 4th, celebrating the best from across Europe in three categories: Sustainability, Diversity & Inclusion, and Life Skills. The Play for Change Awards are now in their third year and have been designed to celebrate the toy makers who help kids confidently navigate the world around them in ways that show respect for themselves, for others, and for the planet. The 2022 Finalists in the Diversity and Inclusion category, are:

  • Baby Pelones Fundacion – Juegaterapia (Spain)
  • Lundy Dollhouse Dolls – Micki Leksaker (Sweden)
  • Dolls with hearing implant – Miniland (Spain)
The Finalists in the Sustainability category are:
  • Rubbish Race – Juguetes Cayro (Spain)
  • Blue Marine Toy – Dantoy (Denmark)
  • Matchbox – Driving toward a better future – Mattel (UK)
The Finalists in the Life Skills category are:
  • Doom the Gloom – LEGO (Denmark)
  • H2 Fuel Cell Car – Fischertechnik (Germany)
  • Emotions Buddy – Miniland (Spain)
Finalists in each category were chosen by a jury of independent specialists, including Products of Change who has worked alongside TIE to overhaul its Sustainability category to integrate a guideline over sustainability credentials to be met across the category. TIE director general, Catherine Van Reeth, said: “The Play for Change Awards are gaining momentum and going from strength to strength. The strong interest from toy companies is a clear indication of an industry that is taking a purpose-driven approach to its products. “Having started in 2020 during the pandemic, we’re delighted that for the first time we can welcome the toy industry in person to Brussels on October 4th to celebrate the Gold, Silver, and Bronze winners.”